The Doomsday File

You’re welcome!

Pamelapolis
4 min readJun 20, 2024
Photo of the Doomsday File by author

My daughter, who still speaks to me, once asked me if I believed in life after death.

I don’t know about you, I said, but THIS (pointing to myself) is NOT ending.

That sums up my view on the matter. What is meant by THIS I have no concrete notion, just a vague understanding that energy is neither created nor destroyed, and one thing people can agree on about me, is that I have energy to spare. So there’s that.

In the meantime, it’s undeniable that time is a one-way arrow, and I’m following it straight to the edge of the cliff. I’m pushing 73, and many of my cohort are either falling apart or dropping dead, and there is no reason to believe that I will be exempt from at least one of those.

In my head, of course, I do understand that there is an expiration date to my existence in this form and that’s just how it is. I file thoughts of the hereafter in a folder labeled Work In Progress.

Speaking of folders. I live with a man who is mad for them. He has been keeping things in folders since I met him decades ago. I admit it, I piggyback off his efficient organization of our affairs, so many things I haven’t had to think about or remember because I know David has it covered. I never try to out-folder him, I wouldn’t win, we’d just fight, and our wasted expended…

--

--

Pamelapolis

Dealing with reality on an as needed basis. Celebrating serendipity and seeking equilibrium. On a treasure hunt.